How Do I Want To Be Remembered?

In this post, I will be discussing how Eric Sheninger’s blog titled “Let Your Work Do The Talking” (http://esheninger.blogspot.com/2015/04/let-your-work-do-talking.html) has inspired me to change my behavior in the future for a university assignment. I am in no way affiliated with Mr. Sheninger, and do not claim any of his work.


After reading the aforementioned post, I felt that there was a wealth of information that I could use to my advantage as a future educator. By taking Sheninger’s advice on leading by example, I believe that educators could start a ripple effect and change future generations of children. I now have a much greater understanding of how much of an influence I will have over very impressionable students. When I become a teacher, I want to set a very good example for the students in all of my classes. I will treat them with kindness and compassion and try to be the best person I can be. In this way, I can model the behavior in which they would benefit from choosing.

When at my future place of employment, I now realize I will have to be on guard always. It will be pertinent for me to remember how my actions could be affecting others at any given time. I want others to understand that a good act can inspire others to change. High school is already a place where – aside from learning – people experience tough things like bullying, peer pressure, and endless unnecessary drama. People constantly try to tear others down, and in return build up a wall around themselves. What if people learned that kindness was okay? That it was okay to just be? No name calling. No bullying. Just helping others to also feel important, worthy, and capable. If students had countless role models to look to for guidance, maybe less people would feel the need to attack others and put others down in order to make themselves feel better.

Additionally, I want this same peace for myself and my co-workers. I want to do my best to work well with other employees. I would like to be open to constructive criticism, and to others opinions and ideas. I now see the importance of building up my coworkers, and see how doing this will only build myself up right along with them. I have learned that professionals must try to work as a team.

Finally, reading Sheninger’s blog has made me ask myself a key question. How do I want to be remembered by my students? One day, they will look back on their memories of school, and it is without a doubt that at times I will fall into some small part of those recollections. As a recall my third grade teacher, who I still give responsibility for my own decision to become a teacher 15 years later, I know the answer to my question.

Leave a Reply

